Do I need to register my business as an LLC?
Typically, you don’t need to register with county or city governments to actually form your business. If your business is an LLC, corporation, partnership, or nonprofit corporation, you might need to file for licenses and permits from the county or city.
How much does it cost to get an LLC in CT?
How much does it cost to form an LLC in Connecticut? The Connecticut Secretary of State charges a $120 fee to file the Articles of Organization. It will cost $60 to file a name reservation application, if you wish to reserve your LLC name prior to filing the Articles of Organization.
How do I register my business with the Secretary of State in CT?
To register your Connecticut LLC, you’ll need to file the Certificate of Organization with the Connecticut Secretary of the State. You can apply online or by mail. Read our Form an LLC in Connecticut guide for details. Or use a professional service like ZenBusiness or LegalZoom to form your LLC for you.
Do I need a registered agent for my LLC in CT?
Yes. The state of Connecticut requires every LLC or corporation to list a registered agent on its formation paperwork. The registered agent serves as the point of contact and should be a person or a company that’s trusted and available during regular business hours to accept documentation if needed.
Can I run a business without registering?
It is entirely legal to operate as a sole proprietorship without registering your company. … All you need for IRS recognition is that you file your first business tax return, as required by federal law.
What if my LLC made no money?
LLCs that have become inactive or have no income may still be mandated to file a federal income tax return. Filing requirements will depend on how the LLC is taxed. An LLC may be taxed as a corporation or partnership, or it may be totally disregarded as an entity with no requirement to file.
How long does it take to get an LLC in CT?
How long does it take to set up an LLC in Connecticut? Filing the Certificate of Organization takes about 3 to 5 business days, but can be expedited for an additional fee.
How much does a business license cost in CT?
How much does a Connecticut business license cost? There is a $100 registration fee for a Connecticut sales and use tax permit.
What’s better sole proprietorship or LLC?
The main difference between a sole proprietorship and an LLC is that an LLC will protect your personal assets if your business is sued or suffers a loss. Most serious business owners choose to form an LLC vs. a sole proprietorship because an LLC legally separates the owner’s personal assets from the business.
How do I get a tax ID number in CT?
To obtain a Connecticut Sales and Use Tax Permit, you must apply online using the Taxpayer Service Center (TSC) or in person by visiting any of our local offices. TSC – If you register online and there is a fee, you must make direct payment from your savings or checking account.
How long does it take to get a business registration certificate?
A Business Name registration will take an average of 3 days to process.
How do I get an EIN number in CT?
Apply for a Connecticut Tax ID by Phone, Mail or Fax
If you don’t mind finding and filling out a paper application, you can also apply by sending the application in with traditional mail or over fax.